Aah! Attention! Hide! My blog entry went further into the internet than I thought

I didn’t mean for anything to viral and have an audience so large regarding this blog, otherwise I would have censored the language and clarified that I appreciate the service that the police, firefighters, etc provide for our safety. I also appreciate things we’re entitled to in the Bill of Rights- these things are not mutually exclusive. With that said, I am still disappointed in the treatment of attendees during the chalk walk event. I was an innocent bystander that was affected and I only have my experience to share. I cannot speak for anyone but myself. I was present to witness a large group of police treat protestors in an extreme way, but they weren’t out of control or anything. I am torn because I’ve never in my life – not even for a second – hated a police officer. Seriously, never. I think they have it rough dealing with an emotional and fickled public. But still, I think that dressing to the 9s in riot gear and shutting down a protestĀ  where people were writing with washable chalk within a large public event was extreme. Could it have gone differently? yes, I think so. Do I have a clue on how to problem solve on that scale to suggest how the police can deal with protestors? No – there are more qualified individuals for that.

My part-time gig making my own handmade jewelry is just that – part-time. It supplements my income. I had the proper permits to be there. I have a regular job and a family, just like other tax-paying voting Americans. I don’t appreciate the negative comments about my writing style, but then again I didn’t expect that many would see it. To the people that bashed me a bit in the comments of the LAist article, you don’t know anything about me or what I’m about so I’m going to chalk it up to you being a couple of cynics (pun intended). This blog was meant for a limited audience to share my frustration at being shut down, trapped and afraid. Any of you would have felt the same in my place.

Happy reading, internet!

Dani

By MyDaniMonster

Leave a Reply

